FG Approves 8 New Private Universities


Eight new private universities have been approved by the Federal Government.

Minister of state for education, Anthony Onwuka, made this known while addressing state house correspondents at the end of Wednesday’s Federal Executive Council, FEC, meeting

Onwuka stated that the Ministry of Education had sought for approval following the recommendations of the National Universities Commission, NUC.

The universities include: Anchor University, Ayobo, Lagos; Arthur Jarvis Akpabuyo University, Calabar, Cross River; Clifford University, Owerinta, Abia and Coal City University, Enugu.

READ THIS ALSO:  We Didn’t Know N700 Million Election Fund Was Stolen Money, Edo PDP

Others are: Crown Hill University, Kwara; Dominican University, Ibadan, Oyo; Kola Daisy University, also in Ibadan; and Legacy University, Okija, Anambra State.

Onwuka said the new universities were issued three years provisional license and would be mentored by older universities.

According to the Minister of State, Coal city University will be mentored by the University of Nigeria Nsukka; Anchor University by the University of Lagos, Clifford University by the University of Agriculture, Umudike, and the two new universities in Oyo State – Kola Daisy and Dominican universities by the University of Ibadan.

READ THIS ALSO:  234 More Women Rescued From Sambisa Forest

Jarvis University will be mentored by the University of Calabar; Legacy University, Okija, will be mentored by the Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka, while Crown Hill University will be mentored by the University of Ilorin.